Some Tips for engine check ,repair your engine

The check engine light had come on, so I requested they check it out. I was told the code it was giving meant one of two things:
1) The gas cap hadn’t been put on all the way
2) It was some other fairly expensive part that I can’t remember the name of.

I was told it must be the gas cap, because the car would be running much rougher if it was the other part. I questioned this, as I had put gas in since the light came on & the light didn’t turn off. I was told the light was now off and it was probably just the gas cap. I was in a rush to get back to work, the mechanic backed my car out of the bay for me and I jumped in to take off – the engine light was still on. I had a meeting I had to be to though, so I just left, figuring it couldn’t be anything major since they had just looked it over.

Fast forward two months and it turns out the code it was sending was in fact for the more expensive part…which ended up breaking down all of a sudden & I had to have my car towed to the shop. Thankfully I have AAA. By the time the car got to the shop the timing chain had stretched, but the diagnosis was 2 bad sensors. They replaced the sensors, but that didn’t fix the issue (since the problem was the timing chain) and they delivered the news that it would need to be taken (via tow) to the dealership for the repair. They did give me the option of having my old sensors put back in, and were perfectly willing to not charge me for anything. I still think this shows remarkable integrity.

I have to say, the check engine light was on the entire time. I should have either taken it back to the shop, or taken it to the dealership to figure out why the light was on…but I kept figuring it couldn’t have been a big deal since they had seen it, and I’d just bring it up at my next oil change. Ultimately this was my bad.

I definitely DO NOT feel you will be ripped off, or sold a bill of goods by this auto shop, however I’m not sure of their ability to properly diagnose. As much as I don’t want to, I think I will keep my service with the dealership from now on since they know all the specifics on the cars.

Leave a Reply

